Affirmations: What are you affirming?

 

Photo by Charlotte May on Pexels.com

Affirmations (def.)

1.the action or process of affirming something or being affirmed

2. Emotional support or encouragement

In January, I kept hearing about affirmations. I did some research and decided I would begin writing my own affirmations. I wanted to manifest greatness and goodness into my life and the lives of those I love. Now, I am not one for making New Year’s resolutions, but this felt different, it felt bigger than a resolution, and it felt right. 

I took about an hour (I shocked myself at the length of time I committed to this), anyway I took an hour of my time and manifested these affirmations for the people in my life. It was a magical and spiritual experience for me. I shed tears, I felt joy, and most importantly the anxiety I felt about some of the things I was affirming seemed to melt away.

It was honestly, just what I needed! 

pexels-led-supermarket

So fast forward to the other night when I was reading to my girls. We are now at the stage where they are asking questions about the story and I find myself making up questions for them to answer as well. These nightly reading sessions have turned into nightly lessons in a way. As a former instructor I am happy to engage. 

Side story: (I promise it will be quick): I love to see that lightbulb moment happen. (You know the moment when someone learns something new, or realizes something for the first time. There is always this sense of pride and joy on people’s faces when this happens. Probably why I taught for as long as I did. Now I get to see these moments in my own children!) 

O.K. back to the story, so we recently read this book titled, The Magic of Me: My Magical Words Written by Becky Cummings Illustrated by Zuzana Svobodová.

“I am strong”

~The Magic of Me: My Magical Words

 It was such a great read, it offered affirmations for kids like; I am peaceful, I am giving, I am strong. What parent doesn’t want their kids to feel/live like this! Seeing these affirmations for such young readers really sparked joy in me. I could have talked about this book with my kids for another 30 mins or more, but kids will be kids  and they were starting to check out (it was bedtime time after all 😉)

pexels-amina-filkins

 I totally recommend this book for your family. It fosters good discussion kids just beginning to read, and great visuals for the younger kids too. PLUS there are benefits to reading to your kids each night. Read about those benefits here.
Buy the book  here. OR Listen for free here. (FYI, I don’t know anyone associated with this book, I just love it that much!)

P.S. I just discovered that this book is in a series, I can’t wait to read more!

P.S.S. If you saw my last post and wondered how the Valentine’s Day heart activity went here is a pic! My kids loved it

Leave a comment